Menu ENN Search
Changer la langue : English Français

Mise en place de la nutrition Serveillance

Cette question a été affichée dans le forum de discussion Évaluation et Surveillance et a des réponses 9.

» Publier une réponse

Anonyme 81

Public Health Nutritionist

Utilisateur régulier

16 nov. 2013, 04:43

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Je me demande si quelqu'un me conseiller ou me diriger à l'orientation / manuel sur la façon de système de surveillance de la nutrition communautaire de configuration du site sentinelle. Cela inclut la taille de l'échantillon, la façon de déterminer le nombre de sites de sentinnel, sélection de sites sentinnel, sélection des sujets.

Cordialement

Mark Myatt

Consultant Epidemiologist

Utilisateur fréquent

18 nov. 2013, 12:35

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Il ya quelques années, je conçu un système de surveillance pour Save the Children (HUMS), qui a été repris être ACF (postes d'écoute) dans quelques pays. Je l'ai zippé la documentation (et autre matériel) je fis pour Save the Children. Vous pouvez le télécharger à partir ici. Vous pouvez trouver ce utile.

Peut-être SC-UK et ACF peuvent ajouter quelque chose au sujet de leurs expériences avec le système.

Altmann

Utilisateur régulier

18 nov. 2013, 14:34

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Comme nous venons de écrit par Mark, nous (ACF) mis en place la méthodologie "Listening Post" au Liberia et au Burkina Faso, et actuellement, en République centrafricaine.

Cette méthodologie de surveillance de sites sentinelles comprend:
- Une sélection aléatoire de 96 enfants de <2 ans (par SCCS + EPI5)
- Des mesures mensuelles de suivi (MUAC) et de poids entre les mêmes enfants sélectionnés au départ (= approche longitudinale), avec le remplacement top-up des anciens enfants
- Des indicateurs supplémentaires peuvent être ajoutés, en fonction de ce que vous souhaitez surveiller (par exemple diarhhea, la diversité de l'alimentation)

Notre expérience est très réussie et a montré des données fiables, avec des estimations précises relatives (+/- 10%). Les défis comprennent:
- L'interprétation des données (en particulier pendant la première année que vous avez pas de tendance de comparaison)
- La définition des seuils, à «alerte» acteurs / autorités
- Pour maintenir votre système de surveillance "en direct", même si elle est pas directement liée avec une certaine forme d'intervention.
Les coûts sont relativement faibles, mais la technicité du système nécessite un haut niveau de supervision.
Pour plus d'informations, ne pas hésiter à me contacter (mal@actioncontrelafaim.org)
Best,
Mathias

Cecile Basquin

Nutrition Advisor / Action Against Hunger-ACF USA

Utilisateur régulier

19 nov. 2013, 00:18

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Salut,

Quelques infos de Action Contre la Faim - ACF USA: nous avons développé un système de surveillance de la petite enquête de l'échantillon (basé sur la méthodologie SMART) retour en 2009/2010 grâce à une collaboration avec l'UNICEF et le Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC, Atlanta, États-Unis ). Le système est basé sur la réalisation d'enquêtes anthropométriques pour la nécessité de la représentativité et la comparabilité directe avec les données recueillies lors des enquêtes précédentes, à savoir, pour établir les tendances de GAM / SAM et surveiller les facteurs aggravants liés à la malnutrition.
Une approche d'échantillonnage en grappes à plusieurs degrés est utilisé comme pour la plupart des enquêtes anthropométriques et suivre l'approche de la méthodologie SMART. Il dispose d'un 25 grappes par la conception de 12 ménages. Cette taille d'échantillonnage si «petit» assure encore que les variations de la malnutrition aiguë d'un minimum de 4% seraient détectés entre deux séries d'enquêtes à l'aide de la CDC "2 enquêtes" calculatrice. En outre, la CDC "calculateur de probabilité" peut être utilisé pour présenter les résultats / donner un seuil GAM avec 85% de probabilité d'être dépassée (pertinente pour recommandations fins).
Ces petites enquêtes à grande échelle peuvent être exécutés 2 ou 3 fois par an (lors d'événements saisonniers clés) et en dehors des indicateurs de nutrition, un ensemble d'indicateurs clés sur la santé, lavage, la sécurité alimentaire, les soins de l'enfant et les pratiques d'alimentation peuvent aussi être collectées dans le but avertissement de début.
Équipes d'ACF en Ouganda et au Kenya ont eu recours à ce système de surveillance depuis plusieurs années, il a généré beaucoup d'informations, et a permis de perdre tendances au fil du temps / saisons (entre autres) les indicateurs à mettre en place. Les discussions récentes avec les équipes d'ACF Kenya et l'Ouganda tournent autour de divers sujets intéressants tels que i) la réduction du nombre d'indicateurs à recueillir sur une base régulière (à utiliser uniquement celles qui sont pertinentes à l'alerte précoce); ii) l'intégration de ce système de surveillance pour les systèmes d'alerte précoce nationaux existants; iii) la remise de sa gestion aux autorités locales, etc.
Pour plus d'information:
CDC calculatrices: http://www.cdc.gov/globalhealth/gdder/ierh/researchandsurvey/calculators.htm
sur le site ACF-USA, on peut trouver des rapports de surveillance ainsi que les résultats d'une méta-analyse des données de surveillance de l'Ouganda a récemment fait conjointement avec le Gouvernement de l'Ouganda
http://www.actionagainsthunger.org/media/technical-surveys

Mark Myatt

Consultant Epidemiologist

Utilisateur fréquent

19 nov. 2013, 09:03

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Andrew Hall (Save the Children) a envoyé un lien vers cet article récent qui peuvent être d'intérêt.

Anonyme 81

Public Health Nutritionist

Utilisateur régulier

19 nov. 2013, 12:27

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Cher Mark,

Merci beaucoup pour votre soutien habituel.

Anonyme 81

Public Health Nutritionist

Utilisateur régulier

19 nov. 2013, 14:59

Bonjour a tous

Je actuellement nutritionniste et dietetien en RD Congo et compte organiser une formation sur la prise en charge de la malnutrition aigue.
Voudriez-vous m'aider avec le The Harmonised Training Package (HTP): Resource Material for Training on Nutrition in Emergencies(in French) complet surtout en langue francaise svp

Mark Myatt

Consultant Epidemiologist

Utilisateur fréquent

19 nov. 2013, 16:05

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

A quelques points ...

Taille de l'échantillon: n = 96 est un minimum. Si vous pouvez faire plus alors, dans la raison, vous devriez faire plus. (n = 132 a été utilisé).

Groupe d'âge: un groupe d'âge plus restrictive et plus jeune est utilisé parce que (1) le groupe d'âge plus jeune est plus susceptible de GAM et SAM, (2) un seul groupe d'âge étroite simplifie l'analyse de la prise de poids, (3) la plus jeune groupe d'âge est dans les premiers jours de 1000 "", et (4) un groupe d'âge étroite signifie une plus petite population signifie une fraction d'échantillonnage plus grande. Aller pour le groupe d'âge 6-59 mois sera, je pense, de réduire la sensibilité du système de surveillance et de compliquer l'analyse. Une bonne raison pour aller avec le groupe d'âge 6-59 mont est que si vous avez fait SMART périodiquement (soit plusieurs fois par an) depuis plusieurs années. Même alors, vous pouvez ré-analyser les données SMART pour le groupe d'âge plus étroite. Un échantillon plus important (c.-à-plus grand que n = 96 sera exigée).

La charge de travail Top-up: Je vais laisser cela aux gens qui ont fui LP pour répondre à cette question. Il ne semble pas être un problème. Les numéros sortants et perdus à chaque tour devraient être assez faible. Notez que vous avez besoin de haut-car ne pas le faire entraîne une cohorte vieillissante qui, au fil du temps, se déplacer hors de danger.

Les options de suivi alternatifs: L'approche longitudinale signifie que nous pouvons faire plus avec une petite taille de l'échantillon parce que la variation de l'échantillonnage entre les rounds dans minimisée. Si vous utilisez une approche de l'échantillon transversale répétée alors vous aurez besoin d'un plus grand échantillon de couper à travers le bruit introduit par la variation de l'échantillonnage. La taille de l'échantillon dans le poste de Cécile ci-dessus (n = 300) semble un peu petite pour moi quand en utilisant un estimateur classique de prévalence mais je suis sûr que la CDC aura obtenu ce droit. Un problème avec une approche de l'échantillon transversale répétée est que les enfants malades ont tendance à être caché à partir d'enquêtes dans certains endroits, ce qui conduit à Sam enfants étant exclus. Ce ne sont pas un gros problème pour la surveillance que nous ne nous inquiétons pas trop sur un biais systématique.

Bias: L'effet d'observateur (voir l'article dans le poste commençant par "Andrew Hall (Save the Children) envoyé ..." ci-dessus) est un problème. La question du biais de non-cohérente qui se pose est intéressante. Je me demande quand (si) cette stabilise. Si elle se stabilise rapidement alors nous pouvons, je pense, il escompte que nous sommes généralement pas préoccupés biais systématique dans les systèmes de surveillance. Si elle ne se stabilise pas le changement, puis périodique dans les sites est (comme l'article l'indique) une option. Je ne suis pas convaincu que l'incertitude de Heisenberg (mentionné dans l'article) est le bon modèle. L'effet Hawthorne est probablement un modèle plus utile ici. Au Royaume-Uni NHS nous avons l'effet BOHICA qui est ce qui arrive quand nous nous appuyons sur l'effet Hawthorne continuellement augmenter la productivité. BOHICA signifie "Bend Over Here It Comes Again". "BOHICA" est un terme fleuri pour la tendance des effets d'observateurs à disparaître au fil du temps. Je pense que le grand risque est mal considéré (ou jeu) intervention basée sur les données de surveillance. Cela se produit lorsque les sites sentinelles reçoivent le plus d'attention, car ils sont les seuls sites pour lesquels nous disposons de données ou parce intervenant il fait disparaître le problème par la prestidigitation.

En résumé ... Je pense que vous serez OK avec votre méthode proposée, mais que vous aurez besoin d'augmenter la taille de l'échantillon à chaque tour. Je pense que vous pourriez utiliser une taille de n = 192 recueillies auprès m = 16 groupes de l'échantillon et d'utiliser un estimateur PROBIT pour la prévalence. Cette approche a été utilisée au Soudan.

Je espère que cela est d'une certaine utilité.

Tamsin Walters

en-net moderator

Modérateur

20 nov. 2013, 14:25

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

De Edward Kutondo:

Salut. Les sites sentinelles sont souvent choisis en utilisant la méthode de but, compte tenu de la vulnérabilité. Idéalement, vous avez besoin de détecter les changements et suivre les tendances où vous sélectionnez quelques sites qui pourront atteindre cet objectif. Les indicateurs doivent être sensibles au changement. Petites tailles d'échantillon sont préférables par exemple 30 ménages par site - ce qui a été utilisé dans le Sud-Soudan, l'Ouganda et le Kenya.


Notez cependant que les méthodes aléatoires sont fortement recommandés. Dans ce cas, les sujets de l'étude sont sélectionnés en utilisant des méthodes simples ou systématiques d'échantillonnage en fonction des caractéristiques de la population.


Voici les liens pour des informations supplémentaires.


http://www.google.co.ke/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&ved=0CEUQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.unicef.org%2Fnutritioncluster%2Ffiles%2FM10P2.doc&ei=LU6MUqjwItKjhgf3t4DQBQ&usg=AFQjCNGxLh24aCCobb_siqlv6CmGJw9fJQ&bvm=bv.56753253,d.d2k


http://www.pophealthmetrics.com/content/10/1/18


Edward K.

Sam Oluka

Nutritionist / Food Scientist

Utilisateur régulier

23 nov. 2013, 07:58

Ceci a été traduit automatiquement.

Merci Edward pour le lien. Un week-end béni vient Ouganda.

Samuel

Si vous rencontrez des problèmes pour poster une réponse, veuillez contacter le modérateur à post@en-net.org.

Retour en haut de page

» Publier une réponse

Menu ENN Search
Language: English Français

Setting up of Nutrition serveillance

This question was posted the Assessment forum area and has 9 replies. You can also reply via email – be sure to leave the subject unchanged.

» Post a reply

Anonymous 81

Public Health Nutritionist

Normal user

16 Nov 2013, 04:43

I wonder if anyone advise me or direct me to guideline/manual regarding how to setup sentinel site community nutrition surveillance system. This includes sample size, how to determine number of sentinnel sites, selection of sentinnel sites, selection of subjects.

Regards

Mark Myatt

Consultant Epideomiologist

Frequent user

18 Nov 2013, 12:35

A few years ago I designed a surveillance system for Save the Children (HUMS) which was taken up be ACF (Listening Posts) in a couple of countries. I have zipped up the documentation (and other material) I made for Save the Children. You can download this from here. You may find this useful.

Perhaps SC-UK and ACF can add something here about their experiences with the system.

Altmann

Normal user

18 Nov 2013, 14:34

As just written by Mark, we (ACF) implemented the "Listening Post" methodology in Liberia and Burkina Faso, and currently, in Central African Republic.

This sentinel site surveillance methodology includes:
- a random selection of 96 children < 2 years (by CSAS + EPI5)
- monthly follow-up measurements (MUAC and weight) among the same children selected at baseline (=longitudinal approach), with top-up replacement of old children
- additional indicators can be added, depending on what you want to monitor (e.g. diarhhea, diet diversity)

Our experience is quite successful and has shown reliable data, with relative precise estimates (+/- 10%). Challenges include:
- the interpretation of the data (especially during the first year as you have no comparison trend)
- the definition of thresholds, to “alert” stakeholders/authorities
- to maintain your surveillance system "in live", even if it's not directly linked with some kind of intervention.
Costs are relatively small but technicity of the system requires high level of supervision.
For more information, do not hesitate to contact me (mal@actioncontrelafaim.org)
Best,
Mathias

Cecile Basquin

Nutrition Advisor / Action Against Hunger-ACF USA

Normal user

19 Nov 2013, 00:18

Hi there,

Some more info from Action Against Hunger – ACF- USA: we developed a small sample survey surveillance system (based on SMART methodology) back in 2009/2010 through a collaboration with UNICEF and the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC, Atlanta, USA). The system is based on conducting anthropometric surveys for the need of representativeness and direct comparability with data collected in previous surveys, i.e., to establish trends of GAM/SAM and monitor aggravating factors linked to malnutrition.
A multistage cluster sampling approach is used as for most anthropometric surveys and follow the SMART methodology approach. It has a 25 clusters by 12 households design. This sampling size though "small" yet ensures that variations of acute malnutrition of a minimum of 4% would be detected between two rounds of surveys using the CDC “2 surveys” calculator. Also, the CDC "probability calculator" can be used to present results / give a GAM threshold with 85% probability to be exceeded (relevant for recommendations purposes).
Those small scale surveys can be run 2 or 3 times a year (during key seasonal events) and apart from nutrition indicators, a set of key indicators about health, wash, food security, child care and feeding practices can be also collected for the purpose of early warning.
ACF teams in Uganda and in Kenya have been using this surveillance system since several years now, it has generated lots of information, and allowed trends of wasting over time/seasons (among other indicators) to be established. Recent discussions with ACF Kenya and Uganda teams revolve around various interesting topics such as i) reducing the number of indicators to be collected on a regular basis (to use only those relevant to early warning); ii) integrating this surveillance system to existing national early warning systems; iii) handing over its management to local authorities, etc.
For more information:
CDC calculators: http://www.cdc.gov/globalhealth/gdder/ierh/researchandsurvey/calculators.htm
on ACF-USA website, one can find surveillance reports as well as results of a meta-analysis of the Uganda surveillance data recently done jointly with the Government of Uganda
http://www.actionagainsthunger.org/media/technical-surveys

Mark Myatt

Consultant Epideomiologist

Frequent user

19 Nov 2013, 09:03

Andrew Hall (Save the Children) sent a link to this recent paper that may be of interest.

Anonymous 81

Public Health Nutritionist

Normal user

19 Nov 2013, 12:27

Dear Mark,

Thank you very much for your usual support.

Anonymous 81

Public Health Nutritionist

Normal user

19 Nov 2013, 14:59

Dear Mark, Cecile and, Altmann
Thank you very much for your response. I would like to add follow up question. I think Listening post (LP) method seems relevant and feasible for my case. So, my follow up question on LP is regarding selecting of the study group (in my case it will be 0-59 months). According to the LP implementation guide, total sample require is 96 children and these the same should be followed up longitudinally. During the implementation process, there will be continuous top-up replacement for those retired/older children and these should be replace with younger kids. Moreover, those who missed for various reasons should also be replaced with children with the same age group. It seems too much demandy in terms of manpower and supervision. My question is to ask whether or not there is another follow up options. Instead of following the same cohort (longitudinal), is it possible to use just repeated cross sectional approach? To clarify, if we want to collect the surveillance data quarterly/monthly, in every quarter/month can we select 96 children randomly from the respected sentinel sites. This avoids the complicated process of top-up and other replacements. Given limited capacity for supervision, this continues or on-going replacement process could introduce bias. The other issue could be change of practices. If caregivers know that we are following these children regularly, then they might change their practices and can give more attention or more care to those children and this might lead very positive result of the study which is not reflection the community.

Thanks

Mark Myatt

Consultant Epideomiologist

Frequent user

19 Nov 2013, 16:05

A few points ...

Sample size : n = 96 is a minimum. If you can do more then, within reason, you should do more. (n = 132 has been used).

Age-group : A more restrictive and younger age-group is used because (1) the younger age-group is more susceptible to GAM and SAM, (2) a single narrow age-group simplifies the weight gain analysis, (3) the younger age-group is in the "first 1000 days", and (4) a narrow age-group means a smaller population means a larger sampling fraction. Going for the 6-59 month age-group will, I think, reduce the sensitivity of the surveillance system and complicate analysis. A good reason to go with the 6-59 mont age group is if you have been doing SMART periodically (i.e. several times a year) for several years. Even then you could re-analyse the SMART data for the narrower age-group. A larger sample size (i.e. larger than n = 96 will be required).

Top-up workload : I will leave this to people who have run LP to respond to this. It does not seem to be a problem. The numbers retiring and lost at each round should be quite small. Note that you do need to top-up as not doing so results in an ageing cohort which will, over time, move out of risk.

Alternative follow-up options : The longitudinal approach means we can do more with a small sample size because sampling variation between rounds in minimised. If you use a repeated cross-sectional sample approach then you will need a larger sample size to cut through the noise introduced by sampling variation. The sample size in Cecile's post above (n = 300) looks a bit small to me when using a classical estimator of prevalence but I am sure that CDC will have got that right. One issue with a repeated cross-sectional sample approach is that sick children tend to be hidden from surveys in some locations and this leads to SAM kids being excluded. This is not a big issue for surveillance as we do not worry too much about a consistent bias.

Bias : The observer effect (see the article in the post starting with "Andrew Hall (Save the Children) sent ..." above) is an issue. The issue of non-consistent bias that is raised is interesting. I wonder when (if) this stabilises. If it stabilises quickly then we can, I think, discount it as we are not usually concerned about consistent bias in surveillance systems. If it does not stabilise then periodic change in sites is (as the article suggests) an option. I am not convinced that the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle (mentioned in the article) is the correct model. The Hawthorne Effect is probably a more useful model here. In the UK NHS we have the BOHICA effect which is what happens when we rely on the Hawthorne Effect to continually increase productivity. BOHICA stands for "Bend Over Here It Comes Again". "BOHICA" is a florid term for the tendency of observer effects to fade over time. I think the big risk is poorly considered (or gaming) intervention based on surveillance data. This occurs when the sentinel sites get the most attention because they are the only sites for which we have data or because intervening there makes the problem disappear by legerdemain.

In summary ... I think you will be OK with your proposed method but that you will need to increase the sample size at each round. I think that you could use a sample size of n = 192 collected from m = 16 clusters and use a PROBIT estimator for prevalence. This approach has been used in Sudan.

I hope this is of some use.

Tamsin Walters

en-net moderator

Forum moderator

20 Nov 2013, 14:25

From Edward Kutondo:

Hi. Sentinel sites are often selected using purpose method in view of vulnerability. Ideally you need to detect changes and follow trends hence you select a few sites that will be able to achieve this. The indicators need to be sensitive to change. Small sample sizes are preferable eg 30 households per site - this has been used in South Sudan , Uganda and Kenya.


However note that random methods are highly recommended. In this case the study subjects are selected using simple or systematic sampling methods depending on characteristics of the population.


Below are links for additional information.


http://www.google.co.ke/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&ved=0CEUQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.unicef.org%2Fnutritioncluster%2Ffiles%2FM10P2.doc&ei=LU6MUqjwItKjhgf3t4DQBQ&usg=AFQjCNGxLh24aCCobb_siqlv6CmGJw9fJQ&bvm=bv.56753253,d.d2k


http://www.pophealthmetrics.com/content/10/1/18


Edward K.

Sam Oluka

Nutritionist / Food Scientist

Normal user

23 Nov 2013, 07:58

Thanks Edward for the link. A blessed weekend fro Uganda.

Samuel

Back to top

» Post a reply